Search This Blog

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Navratri - Navdurga - nine forms of Maa Durga

Navratri - Navdurga - nine forms of Maa Durga
Goddess Durga is the mother of the
universe and believed to be the power behind the work of creation, preservation, and destruction of the world. Meaning of "Durga" is "Durgatinashini," which literally translates into "the one who eliminates sufferings." Thus, Hindus believe that goddess Durga protects her devotees from the evils of the world and at the same time removes their miseries. To kill the power full demon mahishasura and his commanders goddess durga is manifested. All gods offered their radiance to her creation and each formed part of durga’s body. she also obtained very power fullweapons such as chakra form of lord Vishnu and trident form of lord shiva. There are many incarnations of Durga: Kali, Bhagvati, Bhavani, Ambika, Lalita, Gauri, Kundalini, Rajeswar. Her nine appellations are saila putri, bramhacharini, Chandra ghanta, kushmanda, skandamata, katyayani,kalaratri, sidhi dhatri, maha gouri.

No comments: